Stream the Scotiabank Giller Prize announcement on Nov 13: Dionne Irving is a finalist

Author: Lynn McCormack

The Islands By Dionne Irving

The 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize winner will be announced this Monday, November 13. Professor Dionne Irving Bremyer is one of five finalists selected for this prestigious prize, the highest book prize awarded in Canada to Canadian authors, for her book The Islands. Books by Sarah Bernstein, Eleanor Catton, Kevin Chong, and CS Richardson have also been shortlisted for the 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Starting at 9:00 pm EST, the ceremony will be broadcast on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Listen and CBC Radio , as well as streamed online at CBC Books and YouTube.

Last year's winner was Suzette Mayr for her novel The Sleeping Car Porter. Other past Giller Prize winners include Omar El Akkad for What Strange Paradise, Souvankham Thammavongsa for How to Pronounce Knife, Esi Edugyan for Washington Black, Michael Redhill for Bellevue Square, Margaret Atwood for Alias Grace, Mordecai Richler for Barney's Version, Alice Munro for Runaway, André Alexis for Fifteen Dogs and Madeleine Thien for Do Not Say We Have Nothing.

Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch, who passed away in 2017 at the age of 87, founded the prize in honor of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, in 1994.

Canadian poet and fiction writer Ian Williams is chairing the five-person jury this year. Joining him are Canadian authors Sharon Bala, Brian Thomas Isaac and international authors Rebecca Makkai and Neel Mukherjee. Publishers submitted 145 titles for consideration, which was narrowed down to a 12-title longlist before the reveal of the five-book shortlist.