PhD Students

Name

Specialities

Email

 
Amanda Bohne   abohne@nd.edu  
Trish Bredar Nineteenth-century British Literature; Gender; Space and Mobility; Women writers pbredar@nd.edu  
Mayra Cano   mcano@nd.edu  
Kristen Carlson   kcarlso4@nd.edu  
Claudia Carroll 19th Century British and Irish Literature, the Novel, Narrative Theory, Historiography, Memory Studies ccarrol3@nd.edu  
Shinjini Chattopadhyay Anglo-Irish modernism, Modern Irish literature, James Joyce, and genetic criticism schattop@nd.edu  
Haylee Chavanne Postcolonial Literature, Theory of the Borderlands, Native American Renaissance Literature, Literatures of Africa and the Diaspora, Narratives of Resistance, 20th Century American Literature, Race Studies, Black and White Literary Identity hchavann@nd.edu  
Dong Hwan (Alex) Chun Early Modern Literature, Early Modern Poetry & Poetics, Early Modern Politics & Drama, Classical Reception, Classical Literature, Milton, Epic Poetry, Philosophy, Latin Philology, Classical Rhetorics, Italian Renaissance, Renaissance Humanism dchun@nd.edu  
John Conlan Psychoanalysis, Cultural memory, Urbanism and the Politics of the everyday    
Sarah Coogan British and Irish Modernism, Irish Studies, Poetry & Poetics, Postcolonial Theory, Religion & Literature scoogan@nd.edu  
Chanel Cox   ccox12@nd.edu  
Jeremy Davidheiser British Romanticism, Victorian Literature, Gender and Politics jdavidhe@nd.edu  
Julian Dean Irish literature; Modernism; Postcolonial literatures and theory; Critical theory; and the Anthropocene jdean6@nd.edu  
Emily Pitts Donahoe Early modern literature, Shakespeare and Renaissance drama, Shakespeare in performance, early modern performance practices, early modern logic, rhetoric, and pedagogy edonahoe@nd.edu  
Douglas Duhaime Eighteenth-Century Literature, Literature and Science, Digital Humanities dduhaime@nd.edu  
Ala Fink Milton, early American poetry, Reformation exegesis, Hebrew and Latin philology, classical rhetoric afink@nd.edu  
Mimi Ensley History of the Book, Middle English Popular Romance, Manuscript Studies, Chaucer, Langland mensley@nd.edu  
Richard Fahey Old English, Old Norse, Middle English and Anglo-Latin language and literature, monstrosity, philology, etymology, paleography, syncretism, stylistics, code-switching, riddles, magic and the poetic traditions of Medieval England and Scandinavia.  rfahey@nd.edu  
Erik-John Fuhrer British and Irish Modernism, Queer Theory, Critical Animal Studies efuhrer@nd.edu  
Tyler Gardner American Literature; Religion and Postsecular Studies; Writing and Rhetoric gardner.57@nd.edu  
Danielle Green C19–20 British and Irish Literature; Gender Studies; Space Studies; Narrative Theory; Queer Theory dgreen8@nd.edu  
Rachel Hanks   rhanks@nd.edu  
Marjorie Housley Old English, Old Irish, and Old Norse Literatures; Gender Studies; Queer Theory; Affect Theory, History of the Emotions Marjorie.A.Housley.2@nd.edu  
Kaden Ivy Early American Literature, History, and Culture; Early American Political History; Drama as Genre; Performance Studies; Theater History; Print Culture kivy@nd.edu  
Sara Judy 21st century poetry and poetics, devotional poetry, religion and literature, genre theory, lyric theory sjudy@nd.edu  
Joel Gabriel Kempff Transatlantic Romanticism; History and Philosophy of Science; Ecocriticism; Criticism and Theory: Creative Writing. jkempff@nd.edu  
Jessica Kim British, Irish, and Anglophone modernism, postcolonial literature and theory, feminist and queer theory, psychoanalysis, the abject, the novel, race and transnational studies Jessica.K.Kim.308@nd.edu  
Arpit Kumar   akumar5@nd.edu  
Eric Alan Lewis Narratology; twentieth-century global Anglophone novels; postcolonial, feminist, and queer theories; transmission of affect; literature in minor languages elewis2@nd.edu  
Leanne MacDonald Late Medieval English Literature, Alliterative Verse, Temporality, Hagiography, Gender Studies lmacdona@nd.edu  
Kurt McGee Modernism; Philosophy of Literature; The Novel; Total War kmcgee7@nd.edu  
Jake McGinnis 19th Century American, Ecocriticism, New Materialist philosophy jmcginn5@nd.edu  
Emily McLemore Middle English Literature; Medieval Romance; Gender, Body, and Sexuality Studies; Feminist Scholarship; New Historicism emclemor@nd.edu  
Margaret McMillan Nineteenth-century British & American Maritime fiction and non-fiction, exploration & travel narratives, industrial revolution at sea, popular literacy & reading habits of sailors, literature pertaining to the South Pacific mmcmilla@nd.edu  
Jay David Miller Early American Literature, History, and Culture; Literature and the Environment; Book History and Print Culture; Religion and Theology; the Atlantic World Jay.D.Miller.690@nd.edu  
Chamara Moore Black Feminist theory, Intersectionality, 20th Century African-American Literature, and Media Studies cmoore13@nd.edu  
Oliver Ortega   oortega1@nd.edu  
Laura Ortiz-Mercado Early Modern literature, Shakespearean and Renaissance drama, Medieval literature, Arthurian Cycle, gender and identity studies, female demonization, witchcraft accusations, supernatural elements in drama lortizme@nd.edu  
Anton Povzner Selfhood in all its experiential and theoretical aspects; early American literature and history; Puritan theology and outlook apovzner@nd.edu  
Logan Quigley Middle English literature, cognition, memory, spatial perception, history of science, pilgrimage lquigle1@nd.edu  
Shela Raman Old English and Middle English language and literature, multilingualism, philology, postcolonial theory, critical race theory, monstrosity, medievalisms sraman@nd.edu  
Jacob Schepers 20th- and 21st-century Poetry & Poetics, Media Theory, Science & Literature, History and Philosophy of Science jscheper@nd.edu  
Anila Shree Eighteenth century British and Irish Literatures, writings of Jonathan Swift, Satire, Discourses of Popular Culture, and Literary theory ashree@nd.edu  
Meagan Simpson Narrative, Character, Fictionality, Gender study, Religion msimpso4@nd.edu  
Stacy Sivinski Late Nineteenth- and Early Twentieth-Century American Literature, New Woman Literature, Periodical Culture, Materialist Feminism, Gender Studies, and Appalachian Literature ssivinsk@nd.edu  
Caitlin Smith Oyekole C19 American literature, early American literature, doubt, epistemology, religion and literature, intellectual history, ways of reading csmith58@nd.edu  
Jillian Snyder Early modern literature, early modern drama, Shakespeare, Reformation literature, religion and literature, affect theory and history of emotions, literary reception and adaptation studies jsnyder5@nd.edu  
César L. Soto The Transatlantic Nineteenth Century, the French Revolutionary 1790s, Religious Politics, British Romanticism, Irish Literature, Mexican Literature csoto@nd.edu  
Jennifer Thorup Early Modern Literature, Shakespeare, Performance Studies, Gender Studies, Book History, Theology, Classical Rhetoric, Comparative Studies, and Adaptation Theory jthorup@nd.edu  
Dominique Vargas 20th & 21st century Literature of the Americas, Linguistics, Gender, and Identity Studies dvargas2@nd.edu  
Nicole Winsor Twentieth and Twenty-first Century Drama; Theatre and Performance Studies; Global Modernisms/Modernities; Postcolonial Literature and Theory; Irish, Australasian, and Pacific Literature; Psychoanalytic Theory nwinsor@nd.edu  
Joshua Wright   jwrigh11@nd.edu  
Arnaud Zimmern Early Modern literature, medicine, and religion – especially devotional literature, sermons, and scientific and medical prose in England and France azimmern@nd.edu