2019 English Department Writing Award Winners

Tom Brennan Prize for Excellence in Writing – Abigail McCarthy

Winning Paper Entitled: “The Power of the Memoir”

Abby Mccarthy Pic












Eleanor Meehan Prize for Literary Excellence – Sabina Fernandez

Winning Paper Entitled: “Reimagining the Feminine Ideal in the English Renaissance: A Challenge to Petrarchan Love”












Richard T. Sullivan Award for Fiction Writing – Theresa Azemar

Winning Paper Entitled: “Standard Deviation”

Theresa Azemar Pic







Billy Maich Academy of American Poets Prize - Maxime Berclaz

Ernest Sandeen Poetry Award –  Sierra Rainey

Sierra Rainey Pic









Outstanding Senior Thesis Award - Ashtin Ballard

Winning Paper Entitled: “‘And, In Their Falling, Rise Again’: Unearthing Muted Voices in John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath and Sanora Babb’s Whose Names Are Unknown"

Ballard Picture









Outstanding Student in Pre-1700 Literature - Brian Crowley









Outstanding Creative Writing Student - Christina Zobel

Img 0484 4 









James E. Robinson Award for Outstanding English Major -  Brooke Zentmeyer