PhD Students

Name

Specialities

Email

 
Heidi Arndt 20th & 21st century British and Irish Literature; Queer Theory; Narrative Theory; Gender; Women Writers harndt@nd.edu  
Nicholas Babich Old and Middle English; Anglo-Saxon heroic poetry; verse and meter in Old English, Middle English, and Medieval Latin; The Alliterative Revival; the Scholastic philosophical tradition; Tolkien, the Inklings, and fantasy literature nbabich@nd.edu  
Laura MacGowan Barrett Eighteenth-century British Literature; Religion & Literature; Women Writers lmacgowa@nd.edu  
Trish Bredar Nineteenth-century British Literature; Gender; Space and Mobility; Women writers pbredar@nd.edu  
Mayra Cano Latinx/Chicanx literature, 20th & 21st century American literature, Critical Race Theory, Queer Theory, Trauma Theory, Media Studies. mcano@nd.edu  
Kristen Carlson Nineteenth-century American Literature; Transatlantic and Transnational Romanticism; Literature and Science; Literature and Philosophy; Ecocriticism; Critical Theory kcarlso4@nd.edu  
Claudia Carroll Nineteenth-century Novel; Narrative Theory; Cognitive Narratology; Realism; Aesthetics; Irish Literature ccarrol3@nd.edu  
Shinjini Chattopadhyay Anglo-Irish modernism, Modern Irish literature, James Joyce, and genetic criticism schattop@nd.edu  
Haylee Chavanne Postcolonial Literature, Theory of the Borderlands, Native American Renaissance Literature, Literatures of Africa and the Diaspora, Narratives of Resistance, 20th Century American Literature, Race Studies, Black and White Literary Identity hchavann@nd.edu  
Dong Hwan (Alex) Chun Early Modern Poetry & Drama, Classical Reception, Classical Literature & Rhetoric, Renaissance Humanism dchun@nd.edu  
Chanel Cox Early modern literature; Milton and Epic; Genre theory; Gender theory; The body as text  ccox12@nd.edu  
Isaih Dale 20th Century African American Literature, Black Masculinity, Black and White Literary Racial Spaces, and Modernism idale@nd.edu   
Julian Dean Irish literature; Modernism; Postcolonial literatures and theory; Critical theory; and the Anthropocene jdean6@nd.edu  
Emily Pitts Donahoe Early modern literature, Shakespeare and Renaissance drama, Shakespeare in performance, early modern performance practices, early modern logic, rhetoric, and pedagogy edonahoe@nd.edu  
Rachel Hanks   rhanks@nd.edu  
Sally Hansen Late 19th and 20th century lyric poetry and poetics, phenomenology, trauma studies, history of U.S. religions, race studies, contemplative practice shansen6@nd.edu  
Daniel Hellstrom Old and Middle English Literature; Old Norse; Medieval Folklore; Verse Structure dhellstr@nd.edu  
Kaden Ivy Early American Literature, History, and Culture; Early American Political History; Drama as Genre; Performance Studies; Theater History; Print Culture kivy@nd.edu  
Sara Judy 21st century poetry and poetics, devotional poetry, religion and literature, genre theory, lyric theory sjudy@nd.edu  
Joel Gabriel Kempff Transatlantic Romanticism; History and Philosophy of Science; Ecocriticism; Criticism and Theory: Creative Writing. jkempff@nd.edu  
Adam Kerker   akerker@nd.edu  
Jessica Kim British, Irish, and Anglophone modernism, postcolonial literature and theory, feminist and queer theory, psychoanalysis, the abject, the novel, race and transnational studies Jessica.K.Kim.308@nd.edu  
Mitchell Kooh 20th C. British and Irish Literature; Religion and Literature; Theological Aesthetics mkooh@nd.edu    
Arpit Kumar Long Eighteenth Century Literature and Culture, Eighteenth Century Sociability, Western Political Thought, Gender Studies, Anglo-Irish Literature, Literary Theory akumar5@nd.edu  
Kyriana Lynch Eighteenth and Nineteenth-century British and Irish Literature; Education and Mentoring in Women’s Writing; History of the Novel klynch9@nd.edu  
Alan McGee Modernism; twentieth-century history; privacy and literature kmcgee7@nd.edu  
Jake McGinnis 19th Century American, Ecocriticism, New Materialist philosophy jmcginn5@nd.edu  
Emily McLemore Old and Middle English Literatures; Representations of Women; Gender, Body, and Sexuality Studies; Feminist Scholarship; Trans-Historicism emclemor@nd.edu  
Chamara Moore 20th & 21st Century African-American Literature, Speculative Fiction, Intersectionality, Critical Race Theory, Cyborg Theory, Comic Studies, and Media Studies. cmoore13@nd.edu  
Matthew Mullin 17th Century British Literature; John Milton; Disability Studies mmullin@nd.edu  
Oliver Ortega

Latina/o literatures, Latin American literatures, Postcolonial literatures, late 20th and 21st century American literatures, migration studies, race studies, citizenship, gender theory, political theory

oortega1@nd.edu  
Laura Ortiz-Mercado Early Modern literature, Shakespearean drama, theatre performance and staging, witchcraft and supernatural elements in theatre, genre theory, gender studies, fan theory, Shakespeare in popular culture lortizme@nd.edu  
Nathan Phelps Middle English and Latin chronicles, histories, and romance; posthumanism, ecocriticism, and new materialisms; Jerusalem and Wales in literature; intellectual history and medieval ways of being and thinking nphelps2@nd.edu  
Anton Povzner Early British American colonial texts; community; group and individual identities; violence, DH apovzner@nd.edu  
Logan Quigley Middle English literature, cognition, memory, spatial perception, history of science, pilgrimage lquigle1@nd.edu  
Shela Raman Old English and Middle English language and literature, multilingualism, philology, postcolonial theory, critical race theory, monstrosity, medievalisms sraman@nd.edu  
Abigail Scott Early American Literature, History, and Culture; Early American Poetry, Devotional/Spiritual Writing; Puritan Spirituality; Religion and Literature ascott22@nd.edu  
Marie Shelton The novel & narrative theory; 19th-century American; drama & performance studies mshelto3@nd.edu  
Anila Shree Eighteenth Century British Literature, Women’s Writing, Cultural Studies, The Novel, Theories of Fiction ashree@nd.edu  
Stacy Sivinski Late Nineteenth- and Early Twentieth-Century American Literature, New Woman Literature, Periodical Culture, Materialist Feminism, Gender Studies, and Appalachian Literature ssivinsk@nd.edu  
Jennifer Thorup Early Modern Literature, Shakespeare, Performance Studies, Gender Studies, Book History, Theology, Classical Rhetoric, Comparative Studies, and Adaptation Theory jthorup@nd.edu  
Dominique Vargas 20th & 21st century Literature of the Americas, Linguistics, Gender, and Identity Studies dvargas2@nd.edu  
Joshua Wright British Romanticism; Eco-criticism; Literature and War jwrigh11@nd.edu