PhD Students

Name

Specialities

Email

 
Ethan Anderson Chaucer; Chivalric Culture; Middle English Romance; Medievalism; Shakespeare Studies; Transcendentalism; Gender and Queer Theory; Historicism; Creative Nonfiction eander23@nd.edu  
Heidi Arndt 20th & 21st century British and Irish Literature; Queer Theory; Narrative Theory; Gender; Women Writers harndt@nd.edu  
Sarah Baber 17th-18th century British Literature; Milton; Music; Poetry and Poetics; Gender; Classical Reception sbaber2@nd.edu  
Nicholas Babich Old and Middle English; Anglo-Saxon heroic poetry; verse and meter in Old English, Middle English, and Medieval Latin; The Alliterative Revival; the Scholastic philosophical tradition; Tolkien, the Inklings, and fantasy literature nbabich@nd.edu  
Mayra Cano Latinx/Chicanx literature, 20th & 21st century American literature, Critical Race Theory, Queer Theory, Trauma Theory, Media Studies. mcano@nd.edu  
Kristen Carlson Nineteenth-century American Literature; Transatlantic and Transnational Romanticism; Literature and Science; Literature and Philosophy; Ecocriticism; Critical Theory kcarlso4@nd.edu  
Claudia Carroll Nineteenth-century Novel; Narrative Theory; Cognitive Narratology; Realism; Aesthetics; Irish Literature ccarrol3@nd.edu  
Shinjini Chattopadhyay Global Anglophone literatures, postcolonial literatures, world literatures, global modernisms, space and cosmopolitanism, textual criticism, periodical studies, multimedia composition, writing pedagogy schattop@nd.edu  
Haylee Chavanne Postcolonial Literature, Theory of the Borderlands, Native American Renaissance Literature, Literatures of Africa and the Diaspora, Narratives of Resistance, 20th Century American Literature, Race Studies, Black and White Literary Identity hchavann@nd.edu  
Dong Hwan (Alex) Chun Early Modern Poetry & Drama, Classical Reception, Classical Literature & Rhetoric, Renaissance Humanism dchun@nd.edu  
Isaih Dale 20th Century African American Literature, Black Masculinity, Black and White Literary Racial Spaces, and Modernism idale@nd.edu   
Julian Dean Irish literature; Modernism; Postcolonial literatures and theory; Critical theory; and the Anthropocene jdean6@nd.edu  
Noemi Fernandez Labarga 20th and 21st century American Literature; African American Literature; Postcolonial Literature; Critical Race Theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies nfernan5@nd.edu  
Spencer French 20th and 21st Century American Poetry; Religion and Literature; Race and Literature; Racial identities and the literary imagination; Contemporary Poetics; Devotional poetry; Lyric Poetry as resistance sfrench2@nd.edu  
Sally Hansen Late 19th and 20th century lyric poetry and poetics, phenomenology, trauma studies, history of U.S. religions, race studies, contemplative practice shansen6@nd.edu  
Daniel Hellstrom Old and Middle English Literature; Old Norse; Medieval Folklore; Verse Structure dhellstr@nd.edu  
Kaden Ivy Early American Literature, History, and Culture; Early American Political History; Drama as Genre; Performance Studies; Theater History; Print Culture kivy@nd.edu  
Sara Judy 21st century poetry and poetics, devotional poetry, religion and literature, genre theory, lyric theory sjudy@nd.edu  
Hyunsoo Kim   hkim35@nd.edu  
Jessica Kim British, Irish, and Anglophone modernism, postcolonial literature and theory, feminist and queer theory, psychoanalysis, the abject, the novel, race and transnational studies Jessica.K.Kim.308@nd.edu  
Mitchell Kooh Twentieth-century British and Irish literature, religion and literature, aesthetic theology and theological aesthetics, J. R. R. Tolkien and fantasy literature mkooh@nd.edu    
Arpit Kumar Long Eighteenth Century Literature and Culture, Eighteenth Century Sociability, Western Political Thought, Gender Studies, Anglo-Irish Literature, Literary Theory akumar5@nd.edu  
Kyriana Lynch Eighteenth and Nineteenth-century British and Irish Literature; Education and Mentoring in Women’s Writing; History of the Novel klynch9@nd.edu  
Miranda Macfarlane Eighteenth-century and Romantic British literature; Disability Studies; Intersectionality; Identity mmacfarl@nd.edu  
Laura MacGowan Eighteenth-century British Literature; Religion & Literature; Women Writers lmacgowa@nd.edu  
Alan McGee Modernism; twentieth-century history; privacy and literature kmcgee7@nd.edu  
Jake McGinnis 19th Century American, Ecocriticism, New Materialist philosophy jmcginn5@nd.edu  
Emily McLemore Old and Middle English Literatures; Representations of Women; Gender, Body, and Sexuality Studies; Feminist Scholarship; Transhistoricism, Pedagogy in Higher Education emclemor@nd.edu  
Matthew Mullin 17th Century British Literature; John Milton; Disability Studies mmullin@nd.edu  
Oliver Ortega

Latina/o literatures, Latin American literatures, Postcolonial literatures, late 20th and 21st century American literatures, migration studies, race studies, citizenship, gender theory, political theory

oortega1@nd.edu  
Lau Ortiz-Mercado Early Modern literature, Shakespearean drama, theatre performance and staging, witchcraft and supernatural elements in theatre, genre theory, gender studies, fan theory, Shakespeare in popular culture lortizme@nd.edu  
Nathan Phelps Middle English romances, histories, and marvel collections; new materialisms, sound studies, and ecocriticism nphelps2@nd.edu  
Logan Quigley Middle English literature, cognition, memory, spatial perception, history of science, pilgrimage lquigle1@nd.edu  
Shela Raman Old English and Middle English language and literature, multilingualism, philology, postcolonial theory, critical race theory, monstrosity, medievalisms sraman@nd.edu  
Abigail Rawleigh Early American Literature, History, and Culture; Early American Poetry, Devotional/Spiritual Writing; Puritan Spirituality; Religion and Literature ascott22@nd.edu  
Marie Shelton The novel & narrative theory; 19th-century American; drama & performance studies mshelto3@nd.edu  
Anila Shree Eighteenth Century British Literature, Women’s Writing, Cultural Studies, The Novel, Theories of Fiction ashree@nd.edu  
Kristen Sieranski   ksierans@nd.edu  
Jennifer Thorup Early Modern Literature, Shakespeare, Performance Studies, Gender Studies, Book History, Theology, Classical Rhetoric, Comparative Studies, and Adaptation Theory jthorup@nd.edu  
Xiaohan Wang 19th-century American Literature, 19th-century British (Romantic and Victorian) Literature, the Novel, Literature and History xwang57@nd.edu  
Joshua Wright British Romanticism; Eco-criticism; Literature and War jwrigh11@nd.edu  
Julie Wilson   jwilso47@nd.edu