News » Archives » February 2012

Mark Brazaitis wins 2012 Sullivan Prize

Author: Coleen Hoover


Mark Brazaitis is the winner of the University of Notre Dame’s 2012 Sullivan Prize for his collection of stories, “The Incurables.”

The Sullivan Prize, which began in 1996, is awarded biennially to an author who has already published at least one volume of short fiction. The winner receives a thousand dollars and publication by the University of Notre Dame Press.

Valerie Sayers and William O’Rourke, both professors of English and former directors of Notre Dame’s Creative Writing Program, were the judges. O’Rourke commented that this year, “Once again, the difficulty in judging was extreme; we had to contend with an excess of riches, but Brazaitis’ collection stood out amongst the many worthy (manuscripts) we had to consider.”

Read More