The NDRBP was begun as a first volume prize, awarded to an author who has published short fiction or poetry in the Notre Dame Review. Established in 2013 by the NDR, in conjunction with the Notre Dame Press, the prize is to honor the work of both accomplished and emerging authors, who have yet to publish a volume of stories, or a collection of poetry. Consideration is now given to novels, not necessarily, in their case, first novels. Besides publication, the author is awarded a $1000 prize. The judge is the Editor of the Review, in conjunction with the Press; the prize will be awarded when warranted. There are no entry requirements, other than previous publication in the Notre Dame Review

The first winner of The Notre Dame Review Book Prize was James D. Redwood. His collection of short stories, Love Beneath the Napalm, was published in the fall of 2013.

The second winner of The Notre Dame Review Book Prize was John Shoptaw; his volume of poetry, Times Beach, was published by the University of Notre Dame Press in the spring of 2015.

John Shoptaw was raised in Missouri. The poems of Times Beach dwell on the time-places of the Mississippi watershed. His publications include a critical volume, On the Outside Looking Out: John Ashbery’s Poetry (Harvard UP) and the libretto for the opera Our American Cousin (BMOP sound; composed by Eric Sawyer). Poems from Times Beach have appeared in The Colorado ReviewCommon KnowledgeThe New YorkerNotre Dame ReviewA Smartish Pace, and elsewhere. He teaches ecopoetry and poetry writing in the English Department of the University of California at Berkeley.

Thomas McGonigle of New York, N.Y., was awarded the third Notre Dame Review Book Prize for his novel, St. Patricks Day. His book is being published by University of Notre Dame Press in Fall 2016. McGonigle is the author of The Corpse Dream of N. Petkov and Going to Patchogue.

Link for the Notre Dame Press catalog entry for St. Patrick’s Day:

Direct inquiries about the NDR Book Prize to