Faculty by Alpha

Name Specialties Email
Chris Abram Anglo-Saxon and Old Norse literature and culture cabram@nd.edu
Joseph A. Buttigieg Modern European literature, literary theory buttigieg.1@nd.edu
James M. Collins Digital culture, postmodernism, cultural theory, narrative Collins.3@nd.edu
Nan Z. Da 19th-century American literature, critical theory, comparative literature, transnationalism nz.da@nd.edu
Noreen Deane-Moran The novel: structure and form; Middle English romance; linguistics; English for non-native speakers Noreen.Deane-Moran.1@nd.edu
Margaret Anne Doody Restoration and 18th-century British literature; the novel margaret.doody.1@nd.edu
John Duffy Ethics, rhetoric, literacy, writing pedagogy jduffy@nd.edu
Elizabeth F. Evans British and Anglophone fiction and rhetoric, late 19th century to the present; modernist studies; gender, space, and imperialism elizabeth.evans@nd.edu
Stephen M. Fallon 17th-century literature, Milton, literature and the history of philosophy fallon.1@nd.edu
Christopher B. Fox 18th-century British literature, literature and science, and 18th-century Ireland Christopher.B.Fox.1@nd.edu
Stephen A. Fredman 20th-century American poetry sfredman@nd.edu
Johannes Göransson Modernism, modern American poetry, modern Swedish poetry, translation theory jgoranss@nd.edu
Barbara J. Green British Modernism, modern periodical studies, feminist print culture green.15@nd.edu
Stuart Greene Literacy, rhetoric, and critical race theory sgreene1@nd.edu
Sandra M. Gustafson American literature and culture, the American novel, political theory, peace studies, and the study of civil and human rights gustafson.6@nd.edu
Susan Cannon Harris Irish literature, drama, performance theory, gender studies, LGBTQ literature, modern British fiction, and crime fiction sharris2@nd.edu
Peter Holland Shakespeare and performance pholland@nd.edu
Romana Huk 20th-century British literature, postmodern poetries huk.1@nd.edu
Z'étoile Imma Contemporary African and African Diaspora literature and film; postcolonial theory; feminist, gender, and sexualities studies; globalization, space, and race zimma@nd.edu
Cyraina Johnson-Roullier Modern, American, and African American literatures; literature of the Americas; cultural, race, feminist and postcolonial theory; transnational, interdisciplinary and comparative studies johnson.64@nd.edu
Essaka Joshua Romantic-era and Victorian British literature, disability studies, myth and folklore ejoshua@nd.edu
Michelle Karnes Late medieval literature, philosophy, and religion michellekarnes@nd.edu
Kathryn Kerby-Fulton Middle English literature and intellectual history, apocalypticism, visionary writing and women’s mysticism, manuscript studies, book history and medieval literary theory kkerby@nd.edu
Declan Kiberd Modern Irish and English literature dkiberd@nd.edu
Laura L. Knoppers 17th-century British literature, especially John Milton; early women writers; gender in history; and literature of the English Revolution Laura.L.Knoppers.3@nd.edu
Greg P. Kucich British Romanticism Gregory.P.Kucich.1@nd.edu
Jesse M. Lander Shakespeare, Tudor-Stuart drama, Renaissance literature, history of books jlander@nd.edu
Tim William Machan Medieval language and literature, historical English linguistics tmachan@nd.edu
Kate Marshall 20th- and 21st-century American literature; media and technology; critical theory kmarshall@nd.edu
Sara L. Maurer 19th-century literature of Great Britain and Ireland, gender studies, post-colonial studies, the novel smaurer1@nd.edu
Barry McCrea Modernism; modern European, Irish, and Latin American literature; narrative; sexuality and the novel bmccrea1@nd.edu
Jarvis C. McInnis African-American and African Diaspora literature and culture; New Southern Studies; Caribbean Studies; Hemispheric Studies; the global South; transnationalism; sound studies; visual culture studies; performance studies Jarvis.McInnis.3@nd.edu
Joyelle McSweeney Poetry, prose, translation, theory Joyelle.McSweeney.5@nd.edu
Orlando Menes Poetry writing, Latino/a literature, Caribbean literature, translation omenes@nd.edu
Susannah Monta Renaissance/Reformation literature Susannah.B.Monta.1@nd.edu
Ian Newman 18th- and 19th-century British literature inewman@nd.edu
Valerie Sayers Fiction writing vsayers@nd.edu
Roy Scranton Creative nonfiction, fiction, literary journalism, war writing, environmental humanities, 20th century American literature Roy.W.Scranton.1@nd.edu
John Sitter 18th-Century literature and contemporary ecological literature and ecocriticism John.Sitter.1@nd.edu
Yasmin Solomonescu British Romanticism solomonescu.1@nd.edu
David Wayne Thomas 19th-century British literature, critical theory Thomas.205@nd.edu
Steve Tomasula Fiction and other narrative writing, 20th- and 21st-century literature tomasula.4@nd.edu
Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi Fiction writing avanderv@nd.edu
Elliott Visconsi English and American literature 1550-1800; law, history, and political thought; First Amendment & freedom-of-expression law; digital strategy in higher education eviscons@nd.edu
Laura Dassow Walls American Transcendentalism, literature and science, ecocriticism lwalls@nd.edu
Henry Weinfield The history of English poetry, Romantic to Modern English poetry, 20th-century American poetry, poetry writing, verse translation hweinfie@nd.edu
Matthew Wilkens Contemporary American fiction, digital and computational literary studies mwilkens@nd.edu