Upcoming Events By Year

« 2010 »

Monday, August 30, 2010

Disability Forum Lecture: Dale Bauer

-

Location: 119 O'Shaughnessy Hall

“Brain Surgery and Teaching English” explores the trauma I faced as an English professor when I underwent brain surgery for an aneurysm and suffered a stroke that left me without any language and movement. 

Read More

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Monday, September 20, 2010

Lecture: José Limón

-

Location: 322 Jordan Hall

Remembrances of Things in Texas Past: On Mary Karr and John Phillip Santos

Read More

Monday, October 4, 2010

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Annual Duffy Lecture: Daniel Tiffany

-

Location: 100-104 McKenna Hall

On Obscurity:  Poetry, Nightlife, and Negative Sociability

Daniel Tiffany is a professor of English and Comparative Literature at USC. He has written a number of books about modern and contemporary poetics, including Radio Corpse (about Ezra Pound), Toy Medium and, most recently,  Infidel Poetics: Riddles, Nightlife, Substance. His talk will be drawn from Infidel Poetics, a book that deals with obscurity and subcultures.

Read More

Monday, October 25, 2010

Lecture: Marianne DeKoven

-

Location: 322 Jordan Hall

Marianne DeKoven, Professor of English at Rutgers University, will be presenting a lecture entitled Animal Writing.

Read More

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Terry Eagleton Public Lecture

-

Location: Hesburgh Center Auditorium

For his Fall 2010 lecture, Professor Eagleton will be lecturing about "The Contradictions of Oscar Wilde" from his play Saint Oscar.

Read More

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Steve Tomasula Reading

-

Location: DVT (Digital Visualization Theater) Jordan Hall of Science

See the Creative Writing Program readings and events page.

Read More

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

The Humanities in Peril: Does Notre Dame Have An Answer?

-

Location: Andrews Auditorium, Geddes Hall

A Nanovic Institute Flash Panel on the recent trend of colleges and universities eliminating programs in the Humanities.  Moderated by Associate Professor Susannah Monta, and including Joe Buttigieg and Peter Holland as panelists.

Read More

Wednesday, December 1, 2010